It was no surprise when we first heard about Activision’s plans to release Guitar Hero Metallica and I really feel that it’s a right thing to do, since Metallica is one of the greatest bands ever. However, it appears that Activision is indeed preparing fans some surprises and the upcoming title will feature drums freestyle and lots of other cool new things!

According to a Score Hero post, the new Guitar Hero game will feature a new difficulty setting for Drum play, drum fill mode (freestyle using original drum sounds), all sorts of DVD-styled content like fan club videos, rare live and behind the scenes footage and trivia-like performance videos.

Also, a partial set of tracks to be featured in Guitar Hero Metallica has been revealed. We’ll get from the band songs like:

– Enter Sandman
– For Whom The Bell Tolls
– Fuel
– Hit The Lights
– King Nothing
– Master of Puppets
– No Leaf Clover
– Nothing Else Matters
– Sad But True
– The Unforgiven
– Where I May Roam

Also, other bands will have tracks featured in-game, and these will include:

Alice In Chains: No Excuses
Bob Seger: Turn The Page
Judas Priest: Hell Bent For Leather
Kyuss: Demon Cleaner
Lynyrd Skynyrd: Tuesdays Gone
Mastodon: Blood and Thunder
Michael Schenker Group: Armed and Ready
Samhain: Mother of Mercy
The Sword: Black River
Other confirmed artists are Foo Fighters, Queen, and Slayer

It sounds solid, right? Honestly, I was not expecting it, so I must admit that I’m impressed to see that Activision doesn’t only pack some tracks and throws them to the people for some extra money.